Uncategorized

Style…. meet Sloth Girl!

In the spirit of the whole ‘new year’ thing, I have finally decided to bite the bullet, and start a blog.

This is something I spent most of 2011 thinking about – and well… not DOING anything about (I am an accomplished procrastinator!). After struggling through 2011, a year which was not kind to myself or those around me, I decided ‘What the hell! What’s the worst that could happen? (Er… something really bad most likely!)’ and so here I am!

Since I got my first sewing machine at the end of 2010, I have immersed myself in the wonderful world of sewing blogs, and the awe-inspiring collection of beautiful outfits crafted by them. But even as I drooled over the vintage inspired skirts and dresses made by Casey, or Gertie’s amazing lessons on that Bombshell Dress, I was getting up every morning and throwing on the same ‘jeans and t-shirt – oh! and maybe a cardi!’ outfit. I was scraping my hair into a ponytail and never even really bothering with make-up. You see, I am LAZY (but I prefer ‘low maintenance, thankyouverymuch!)

I am known for being a bit of a tomboy. I kickbox (not well). I snowboard when I get the chance (‘snowfalling’ would be more accurate). I surf (well… I spend time in the sea, wearing a wetsuit, attached to a surfboard and trying not to drown). I drink real ale, and often, like nothing more than to spend the evening in front of my telly, playing on the X-Box (and shooting things…and swearing.) And so, I decided a long time ago, that I wasn’t really meant for ‘outfits’ or ‘fashion’. I found it quite hard to reconcile my hobbies with an outwardly lady-like appearance. I felt silly wearing high-heels, or uncomfortable if someone noticed that I’d ‘done my hair’.

And yet, at the same time, I was making clothes in flowery, pretty fabrics, not just tops, but SKIRTS as well, and I loved every minute of it. I even kind of enjoyed the photo taking some of the time. In actual fact, these occasions were often high points of an otherwise difficult year, and so, now a new year has come knocking, I’ve decided that it’s time to go ahead and try to find a way to combine my love of a low-maintenance appearance (and… if I’m honest… jeans!) with my love of sewing, pretty clothing, and vintage styles.

I’m hoping that this blog can be a record of my efforts at sewing, and my attempts at working out what exactly my ‘style’ is (a source of much consternation).

So… can a beer drinking, X-Box playing, MMA watching, self-professed tomboy sew her own clothes and come out at the end of the year looking pretty, and feeling confident in (DUN DUN DUNNNNNN) High HEELS?!?

2 thoughts on “Style…. meet Sloth Girl!

  1. Hi Alexandra! Welcome to the Sew Colette Sew-Along! To put the button on your blog, copy the HTML code from the box. Go to 'Design' on your blog and click Add a Gadget on your sidebar layout. Choose Add HTML and a window will pop up. Paste the HTML button code inside and press save. Voila!

    Like

  2. Alexandra, I think we're the exact same person! I'm a procrastinating, lazy (I prefer “laidback”), klutzy tomboy. I don't even want to talk about what happens when I wear high heels (especially if there are a few beers involved). 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

