Uncategorized

Awarded!

SQUEEE!

I was awarded!! SEE?? AN AWARD!

The lovely Becky from Sew and So nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger/One Lovely Blog award, which totally made my day! Thanks so much Becky! 🙂
Apparently I’m supposed to:
1. Thank the person who nominated you.  (CHECK!)
2.  Add The One Lovely Blog Award/Very Inspiring Blogger Award to your post. (DONE!)
3.  Share 7 things about yourself.
4.  Pass the award on to 10 nominees.
5.  Include this set of rules.
6.  Inform your nominees by posting a comment on their blogs.
Umm.. okay, seven things about me:
1. I’m addicted to caffeine. Not like when people say ‘oh yeah, I’m totally addicted, I can’t get enough!’ I mean, like I get headaches if I don’t have a cup of coffee in the morning. I’m trying to cut down, HONEST…
2. I call the floor ‘the deck’ and walls ‘the bulkhead’. My dad is a ship’s captain, and that’s what he calls them, so I just picked it up as a kid. I think I was about 9 when I realised that they were nautical terms and no one knew what I was talking about! I also tend to say nautical things like ‘scuppered’ and ‘fang boatswain’ (pronounced bosun). I am weird.
3. I have to rub my feet together when I’m going to sleep. I have no idea why.
4. I used to live in Paris (I taught Parisian teenagers English. I hated teaching, and was terrible at it.)
5. I am a MASSIVE MASSIVE fan of fantasy fiction. I am a total geek. Wheel of Time? Yup. A Song of Ice and Fire? YUP. Anything written by Robin Hobb? YUP YUP. 
6. I feel compelled to trace every pattern I sew. I HATE DOING IT, but I can’t stop. It’s like my one good sewing habit, so I continue to do it, even though it means I will put off making a pattern because I can’t face tracing out the pieces! 
7. My boyfriend has the same name as me. We are both Alexes, which is a source of constant amusement for our friends!
PHEW. That was harder than I thought!
Now for the really tough part! Plucking up the courage to nominate people! But since I made a resolution to try to scare myself more, I’m going to give this a go, although I’m giving myself some slack, and am only going to nominate 5 people, not 10 (Baby steps….)
1. Ping at When Big Kids Play Dress-up – She looks amazing in everything, from a peter pan collar dress to an Arwen-inspired gown!
2. Winnie at Scruffy Badger Time – Mr Cuckoo tries to pretend to care when I witter on about this or that sewist and what they’ve made but he instantly knows who I’m talking about when I mention Winnie: ‘Oh yeah, the badger lady? She’s awesome!’ (I should probably point out badgers are his favourite animal.) 
3. Sonja at Ginger Makes… – You can guarantee that ANYTHING she makes, I want. She is like my style icon. Also, she makes me laugh. Also, y’know…. PICTURES OF PUGS.
4. Erin at Miss Crayola Creepy – I wish I could look HALF as cool as she does in a dress.
5. Sarah at Rhinestones and Telephones –  I love her vintage style and I mean let’s face it, she wants to decorate her house like the Burrow. She is amazing.
EEP. Now I have to go and tell them I nominated them. Colour me terrified. 
6 thoughts on “Awarded!

  1. It sounds like we have really similar taste in books! Though it took me forever to get through the first Game of Thrones book, to be honest, and I think it's because it was too much politics and not enough dragons or whatever. I read a bunch of Wheel of Time back in grad school but lost track once I'd gotten caught up– I'll need to go back and finish it sometime, but I think I'm going to have to audiobook it because 8 of those books is a LOT of re-reading to do! Haven't read any Robin Hobb yet, though I'm pretty sure I have one of her books on my shelf. I'm currently re-reading all of my Tolkien because I FINALLY convinced my fiance to give the books a chance, thanks to the Hobbit movie. And I had new Dresden Files to read, so that was fun.

    I didn't realize you and your boyfriend have the same name–I can see why your friends are amused!

    Like

  2. My friends and I call the Wheel of Time books 'Waste of Time' because they take so much of your time to read! 🙂 I mean, I love them so much but there are some books where NOTHING HAPPENS, people just sit around having conversations! I find with a lot of fantasy books, you have to read them all one after another or else you can't remember who anyone is!

    Like

  3. Hi there! I just stumbled onto your site from GingerMakes, and I think I am IN LOVE. You kill zombies in video games (ME TOO!, you read fantasy novels (ME TOO!) and you make adorable clothes! (I'M…working on it…) Can't wait to see more from you in the Year of the Blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

