capsule wardrobe · completed · deeranddoe · doubleknit · jersey · lace · top · winter

Finished: Lace Plantain Top

Trying to get the remote to work!
Just a super quick post to say – I made something! Woo! 
This month has been really busy, as Mr Cuckoo and I have decided to move, and then have been house hunting, and then going through all the lettings application process yadda, yadda, yadda….
So I haven’t really had anywhere near as much time as I’d hoped to sew, but last Sunday I finally had a little bit of time to myself, so, looking for a quick project, I downloaded, taped and cut out the Deer and Doe Plantain pattern. (It’s free! FREEEEEEEEE!!!!!!! Ahem. Sorry. I love freebies.)
I’ve been wanting a new long-sleeved top that was a little bit dressier than a t-shirt, but comfortable and warm and that would go with most of my wardrobe, as part of my Capsule Wardrobe Project, so I decided to use some black doubleknit material that I’d bought before Christmas for a project that I didn’t have time for in the end, and then layer some white stretch lace that has been hanging around in my stash for ages over the front, and use some more for the elbow patches. 
In the end I just pointed the remote directly
at the camera, which seemed to work!
Not very pleased.
I made a couple of little adjustments to the pattern. I lengthened the bodice front and back by 1.5″, since all tops are too short for my absurdly long torso (I wouldn’t mind if my legs were long too, but as you can see, they’re pretty short and ‘sturdy’) and I also raised the neckline up a couple of inches, because I wanted a fairly ‘solid’ front bodice to properly show off the lace. I also went up a size to a 40, because I knew the doubleknit would not be as stretchy as normal jersey, but to be honest, I should have graded up to a 42 in the bust and tapered it back down at the waist – it’s pretty snug up top to say the least!
Here’s a close up of the lace front:
After cutting out the fabric, I basted the lace bodice front onto the black doubleknit one, and then just sewed the top as instructed. And the best bit? It only took about an hour and a half! I literally sewed that sucker up, and then wore it out to coffee with Mr Cuckoo!
I was hoping that the weather might perk up a bit this weekend, so I could get some photos taken outside, but it’s done nothing but rain and storm all weekend, so I’m afraid my photographs are pretty crappy and dull because I had to take them inside with all the lights on, so they’re pretty fuzzy. Also, I’ve finally got a camera remote, but it only worked about half the time, so I’m looking pretty grumpy in all the photos I took, and there were literally only two that were usable… oh well. At least I finally made AND photographed something in the same month. That’s something right?? (I can’t believe this… but as I’m sat here typing, the SUN has just come out and is shining through my sewing room window. ARGH.)
ANYWAY, if you’re thinking about trying the Plantain pattern, I definitely recommend it! It’s super quick and easy, and is a great way to stash bust any of your jersey!
Anyone else fallen under the Plantain spell?
2 thoughts on “Finished: Lace Plantain Top

  1. Thanks! I'm hoping to make up some more in a bit more suitable material soon! For some reason, it feels like the type of pattern that I will be comfortable making a lot of modifications and hacks to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

