capsule wardrobe · inspiration · jeans · wardrobe architect · winter

Wardrobe Architect Post 2

The more I do these wardrobe architect posts, oddly, the more I wonder about posting them on my blog, because although I would have said that these posts are ‘just’ about clothes, the more I’m starting to realise that my feelings about what I choose to wear, and how I feel in certain clothes, can actually be very personal indeed! Sorry again if you find these boring, feel free to skip ’em!
I have to admit, I feel like these exercises have been really useful for me, because they’re making me take a real look at how I feel in relation to certain styles. I started this blog partly as a way of encouraging myself to branch out into more interesting, and ‘girly’ clothing, and I’ve come to realise that actually, it’s fine if I don’t feel comfortable in full-skirted dresses, and that I can still look feminine and ladylike without them! The more I look, the more I see that there are definitely ways in which I can tweak my wardrobe to fit my desire to feel more ‘put-together’ and ‘classy’ without having to sacrifice feeling comfortable and ‘myself’ in those clothes. It’s okay for me to love other bloggers’ vintage styles/50’s style dresses/colourful outfits, without wearing them myself! But you know what? If I DO decide to branch out into these areas, that’s fine too! Having a solid grip on what does and does not work for me personally will only make it easier for me to branch out, in ways in which I’m comfortable!
GOAL
Uncover the styles that make you feel like yourself and attach words and images to them.
When you are wearing your favorite clothing, how do you feel (e.g. confident, sexy, poised, powerful, etc)?
Confident, elegant, strong, adaptable, adventurous, free, energetic, vibrant, classy.
When you’re wearing something that is not quite right, how do you feel? What are the feelings you want to avoid about the clothes you wear?
Uncomfortable, self-conscious, sluggish, bulky. 
I hate anything riding up or down, or anything at all restrictive to movement.
I struggle to feel comfortable in anything ‘cutesy’ or overly ‘girly’. Anything that is particularly fussy or frilly just makes me irritable when I’m wearing it. I’ve also noticed that I may wear one item of clothing with a print on it, but anything too loud, busy or flowery makes me very self conscious.
Anything animal print. I love it on other people, but for me, just no.
Who do you consider to be your style icons? What is it about them that appeals to you?
I’ve come to realise that I don’t actually think I have any style icons! Or, at least, I can’t think of any person in particular that embodies my ‘ideal’ style… This has kind of irritated me, and I’m now actively looking to see if I can find a style icon, more out of interest’s sake than for any other reason.
The closest thing to a style icon I can come up with is Katniss Everdeen’s everyday clothing in both movies. Natural, functional, but ladylike and flattering. I think it’s more than the clothes she wears though, she’s an intelligent, competent, strong female character.
I suppose I have some brands that kind of epitomise my idea of style: Roxy (although probably the stuff on the dressier end of the spectrum), Fat Face, and Joules. For me they often seem to mix the casual with elegant and ladylike, which is what I’m after I think!
What are some words that describe styles that you like in theory, but are not quite you?
Retro/Vintage – I LOVE LOVE LOVE these looks, but I hate to feel at all ‘costumey’ in what I wear. I love these looks on other people, and really wish that I could pull them off, but I just don’t feel remotely comfortable in anything too obviously ‘vintage’. 😦 
Anything ‘hobo’esque. I’ll admit I like wearing some slouchy cardigans, but too many loose layers just don’t do me any favours.

Look over your answers from last week on history, philosophy, culture, community, activi­ties, location, and body. List at least 15 words that you associate with your answers. Think about descriptive words, moods, and feelings you associate with these things:

Simple
Comfortable
Warm
Cozy
Classy
Practical
Neutral
Nautical
Military
Ladylike
Elegant
Outdoorsy
Feminine
Adaptable
Woodsy
Snuggly
Understated
Preppy(?)
Chic
Versatile

Are there other words you would like to add to this list? What other words describe your core style?

Honestly, it was hard enough coming up with just those words…. I don’t think I can possibly come up with anything else at the moment!
Look over the answers to all of the questions above. If you had to narrow your list to only 3-5 words to describe you, which words would you choose?
Practical
Adaptable
Understated
Comfortable
Classy
VISUAL EXERCISE
Collect 15-20 images that represent these 3-5 words for you. You could create a pinterest board, a folder on your computer, a moodboard, or a collage. Be creative and have fun!
2 thoughts on “Wardrobe Architect Post 2

Leave a Reply

