MeMadMay

Me? Mad!! May! Catch-up: Days Five and Six!

Phew!

Me? Mad!! May! is difficult!

I mean, sure, doing stuff that scares or intimidates me on a daily basis is pretty hard work, but also, trying to remember taking photographs where possible, and keep up with the blogging… yeesh.

I’ll have you know I’m a pretty lazy person! I’m most definitely a lazy blogger, and I still haven’t got up to speed with this daily blogging shizz….

SO.

Me? Mad!! May: Day Five

It was a bank holiday Monday. I spent most of the day painting my bathroom – it shouldn’t have been a mammoth task, but the walls just seemed to soak up the paint! I wore a pair of old jogging bottoms and a me-made black jersey version of the Pendrell blouse that has always been a bit big and weird fitting on me, so I normally wear it to work out in, or to bed.
Me? Mad!! May! 5 – Weird fitting jersey Pendrell blouse

In case you were wondering, the new paint colour is called ‘Waterfall’ – very bathroom appropriate no?

Anyway, so I did that for most of the day, and so you’re probably thinking ‘I bet she didn’t do the ‘mad’ part of Me? Mad!! May’ but you’d be wrong! 
After finally finishing the bathroom at about 7pm, I sucked it up, got changed and went……….
RUNNING.
If you’re scratching your head, wondering why the hell that’s scary, let me tell you a little bit about that time that I moved to Paris, and thought I really ought to do something to stay fit when I couldn’t afford a gym.  I lived by the Seine, so the sensible thing to do was to go jogging along the riverbank two or three times a week. I thought myself very cosmopolitan as I jogged, beetroot red and sweating past chic Parisians (who generally gave me some serious side-eye, and a wide berth) until only a couple of sessions in, I started noticing some serious discomfort in my lower legs. But I’m nothing if not stubborn, so onward I went, trying to make sure I stretched out my calves after each run, as I was sure that was the problem. My friends started laughing at the weird, limping way I was walking (and I was walking all the time) Finally, enough was enough, and I hobbled to monsieur le docteur, and learnt my first real-life situation ‘medical’ French: périostite tibiale…. AKA shin splints. And of course, the culprit was all that ‘healthy’ running. Let me tell you – that was the last time I went jogging in Paris. It turns out, I needn’t have worried because I was walking about 6 or 7 miles a day, and that seemed to keep me healthy enough.
Anyhoo – after that, you could not get me to run. Seriously. I went to a personal trainer for a while who explained about my ‘overdeveloped calves’ yadda yadda yadda, and how I could do some shin strengthening exercises – walking on my heels and other things. But let’s face it, if it’s painful for me and going to be a hassle, why on earth would I bother (lazy y’see!). 
Recently though, I’ve been thinking more and more about how I’d like to change things up a bit, and I don’t like to think that there’s something I can’t do, so with the help of Zombies, Run! I decided to suck it up, get out there, and see if I can run…..
Me? Mad!! May! 5 – later, the same ill-fitting Pendrell blouse with some workout gear.
(Answer: Yes. Yes I can. It’s just hard work and I have spend a good chunk of time on a foam roller afterwards)
And you know, to start with, it was pretty intimidating. I felt like everyone that was nearby was looking at me, somehow knowing that I was a ‘newbie’ runner and that I didn’t know what I was doing. Of course, if you were to ask me what I thought about someone else running for the first time in years, I’d just say that ‘everyone has to start somewhere’ but it’s somehow different when it’s me in that situation. But I sucked it up and went for it – and I felt brilliant afterwards! It’s been bugging me for a while that I didn’t feel like I could run, just in general, and I’ve been doing the shin strengthening exercises in the hopes that when I start running, it would make things easier for me… but it always seemed to take that little bit of extra guts that I didn’t have, to actually go ahead and do it! And Me? Mad!! May! totally gave me the push. (Spoiler: ran again today, and did even better. Also, I love Zombies, Run! It seems to me that putting the added element of gaming into any situation can only make it more awesome!)
ONWARD

Me? Mad!! May: Day Six

Back to work! URGH.
Me? Mad!! May! 6 – Back to work grumpy selfie!
Wearing my blue floral Sureau dress (I love it!) to
try to take away the back to work sting.
Bank holidays are brilliant, but they always mean the first day back at work is going to be a toughie, as that’s one extra day’s worth of work to catch up on… hence my grumpy face!
After one seriously busy day at work, and then a crazily strenuous session at kickboxing, all I wanted to do was eat some food and crash… but I couldn’t cheat on my Me? Mad!! May commitment. So Mr Cuckoo kindly offered to cook dinner whilst I tackled another intimidating topic – work-related studying! I have been meaning to work on this for months and months (it’s entirely self-led… I don’t have to do it if I don’t want. I want to in principle, but the longer I left it, the harder it was to start, until I started avoiding the area of the house where the book sat. LAME.) but I always found an excuse for why it wasn’t the right time to start on it… I was too tired, too busy and so on…
So, I steeled myself, grabbed the book, my notebooks, highlighters and a pen (and a cup of coffee, of course!) and settled myself down at the dining table. (I had planned on studying in the sewing room, but it was too too messy to concentrate in – story of my life.)
 I used my fancypants DSLR camera that my parents bought me for my birthday to take this photo, which is why it
looks a lot nicer than my other shots – Note to self, use this camera more often.
And guess what? It was nowhere near as bad as I’d built it up to be! (I’m sensing a Me? Mad!! May! theme here…) Granted, I didn’t get past the introduction, and I probably wrote more notes than were really necessary, but now I’ve actually started, I feel better about just cracking on with it! What a relief! It’s been hanging over me like a little dark cloud, making me feel guilty and lazy every time I thought about, which only made it even harder to start! Procrastination sucks!
On that note, I need to post this, so I can crack on with today’s Me? Mad!! May challenge.
GULP.
2 thoughts on “Me? Mad!! May! Catch-up: Days Five and Six!

  1. Ewww, shin splints hurt so badly! I used to get them when I ran track- hard surface running makes it easier to get them. When I run now, I plan my route so I run partly on the sidewalk and partly on dirt trails in a local park. It's much easier on your legs to run on a surface that gives a little!

    Dude, you're really sticking with this! I'm so proud! 🙂

    Like

  2. Aw thanks lady! May suddenly seems like the LONGEST MONTH ON RECORD, though, not gonna lie!

    I'm going to give that a go, I'm running in the park anyway, so I might as well run on the dirt/grass for a bit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

